Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is an important instrument for communicating with the public. The trustees are influential members of German society from a variety of different backgrounds, such as politics, economy, science and media. They meet once a year to review the latest information on developments at the institute and the Max Planck Society in general. The trustees provide the institutes with advice in social and science-political issues. The President of the Max Planck Society appoints the members of the Board of Trustees.

Members of the board of trustees are:   

Melanie Bernstein
Member of the German Federal Parliament, Berlin

Prof. Dr. Ulrich Schaible
Director of the Leibniz-Center for Medicine and Biosciences (Reserach Center Borstel), Borstel

Dr. Oliver Grundei
State Secretary in the Ministry of Education, Science and Cultural Affairs of the state Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel

Dr. Jürgen Hansen
Chairman of the management of the Marius-Böger-Foundation, Plön

Prof. Dr. Enno Hartmann
Vice President of the University in Lübeck, Lübeck

Prof. Dr. Simone Fulda
President of the University in Kiel, Kiel
Dr. Ralf Neumann
Chief Editor Laborjournal, Freiburg

Jörg Orlemann
Managing Director of the Industrie- und Handelskammer Kiel (Chamber of industry and Commerce), Kiel
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Sommer (Chair)
GEOMAR | Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Kiel

Lars Winter
Mayor of the city of Plön, Plön

Go to Editor View